My Custom M57 (in progress)

Talk about your Tokarev pistols or rifles.

My Custom M57 (in progress)

Postby muttman » Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:00 pm

Hi eveyone, new member here. I have been tinkering with my M57 for a few months now, but I think now I really want to get serious and make it my go-to pistol, even over my Sig M11-A1. First, let me get yall updated on the mods I have done so far.

As I got it. $265 from an individual at a gun show (my favorite way to buy guns). Slight holster wear, and virtually no feed ramp, sear...etc wear, and a perfect bore.

Here is where the heavy mods started.

Preparing for welding.

Bobbed hammed and extended slide release and safety(ended up not extending the safety).
muttman

Re: My Custom M57 (in progress)

Postby muttman » Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:22 pm

Right about now your probably thinking "Oh no, Bubba gots him welder mochine". Well, I did use a old Lincoln cracker box stick welder I modified into a TIG rig. Also, I have no machine tools. I used a 4.5" angle grinder, a dremel tool, and hand files. Anyway, here are the results of my efforts.

Starting to take shape.

Here are the 1/8" aluminum grips I made.

muttman

Postby muttman » Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:32 pm

Here are some better close ups of the metal work. It is all steel, no fillers/bondo.

Here are the grips freshly epoxy textured. I cleaned the edges and screw holes up later.
muttman

Postby muttman » Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:45 pm

I did a ton of work on the trigger to make it fit/feel better and also "skeletonized" it just to look cool. I drilled and tapped the dust cover in three places for a rail then epoxy bedded it. Also drilled and tapped the frame for the new grips.

muttman

Postby muttman » Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:54 pm

This is where I wasn't sure what direction I wanted to go with the pistol. I just wanted to get some range time with her, so I gave her a quick krylon bath to keep her from rusting.